Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
admin's picture

Independent School District No. 777, Benson, Minnesota
Monday, January 13, 2014 – 5:30 p.m.
Benson Senior High Media Center

The organizational meeting was called to order at 5:32 p.m. by Chad Payne.
Members Present:  Andy Abner, Al Pagel, Jodi DeJong-Hughes, Chad Payne, Bill McGeary, Gary Williams and Marlene Molden
Members absent:  None.  Others present:  Dennis Laumeyer, Mike Knutson, Dave Benson, Brad Johnson, Pam Anderson, Lori Klose, Renee Helgenset and Shelly Mikkelson
Additions to the Agenda:  Financial update by Dave Benson.
Citizens Comments:  None.
Organization for 2014:  
Chad Payne was elected Chairperson.
Al Pagel was elected Vice-Chairperson.  
Andy Abner was elected Clerk/Treasurer.
Meetings will be held the 3rd Monday of each month and two extra meetings starting at 5:30 p.m. January-April and November-December and at 6:00 p.m. May-October in the Benson High School Media Center or as determined at appropriate locations by administration.
Swift County Monitor-News designated as the official newspaper.  
All Minnesota Depositories plus PMA Financial and Minnesota Liquid Asset Fund designated as the depositories.
Business Manager authorized to make electronic funds transfers.  
Superintendent and Business Manager authorized to apply for federal, state and other programs.  
Affiliated Community Medical Center named as the official school physicians on call.  
Superintendent or Board Chairperson authorized to select an attorney as needed at their discretion.  
School Board members salaries/expenses set as follows:  Directors $1,000/ year; Chairperson $1,200/year; Clerk/Treasurer $1,000/year; Special meetings $50; Special meetings longer than 4 hours $100; and mileage at IRS rate.
Committee assignments set as presented.
Routine consent agenda items were approved.
Administrative reports were presented.
Superintendent Laumeyer presented updates regarding the Strategic Plan.
Transportation Supervisor, Al Kill, reported on bus and vehicle issues and plans.
Administrator contracts were approved.
Shared Food Service Director Agreement with Morris Area High School was approved.
Governor Dayton closed all Minnesota schools on January 6th due to extreme cold temperatures. The Board approved to make up the day on February 17th.
Chief’s Baseball Field scoreboard was damaged in June’s storm and the Board approved to replace it with insurance money and will split the cost with the City of Benson.
School Board members toured the high school building January 9th and will tour Northside Elementary to discuss future district facilities planning.
$400 from Bemis Company Foundation for the John Thompson Memorial Scholarship.
$500 from Swift County Benson Hospital Local 2053 RN-LPN Unit.
$20,000 from Jennings Larson for the Arthur, Pearl and Wayne Larson Family Memorial Scholarships.
The meeting adjourned at 7:24 p.m.
Business and Report Items:  Document Reference (filed with original minutes)
Copies of documents presented for action and report purposes are located in the district office as prepared for permanent record and posted on the school website at www.benson.k12.mn.us.
Andy Abner, Clerk

Rate this article: 
No votes yet