Braves to host scrimmage Saturday on Brock Field

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
admin's picture
Pictured are the captains and coach for this year’s Benson football team.

The Benson football team is set to host a four-team scrimmage with Lac qui Parle, KMS, and Ortonville at 10 a.m., Saturday, Aug. 27.  The Braves are set to open up the 2016 season at 7 p.m., Friday, Sept. 2 at home against Eden Valley-Watkins, followed by a game at YME, Friday, Sept. 9. 

The Benson football team, coached for the 16th-straight season by Scott Gonnerman, began practices Monday, Aug. 15.  The Braves lost eight key players from last year’s team, including Josh Manzke, Adam Lindahl, Connor Staton, Mitchell Koosmann, Grant Ascheman, Andrew Lindahl, Everett Lee, and Max McDonald.

However, the team does return a good nucleus of talent, including starting quarterback Layton Connelly, fullback Brett Sulier, wide receiver Max Peterson, linemen Shawn Aarhus, Zack Sonnabend, and Devin Vergin, and linebacker Aaron Zosel.

Head coach Scott Gonnerman lists 14 seniors, nine juniors, 11 sophomores, and 10 freshmen out for football this season...


For more on this story, and to keep up on all the latest in area sports, subscribe to the Swift County Monitor-News print edition or our PDF internet edition. Call 320-843-4111 and you can get all the local news and sports delivered to you!

Pictured  are the captains and coach for this year’s Benson football team, set to open up the season with a scrimmage at home, Saturday, followed by the season opener in Benson, Friday, Sept. 2 vs. EV-Watkins.  From left to right are Shawn Aarhus, Layton Connelly, coach Scott Gonnerman,  Max Peterson, Ty Hedman, and Zack Sonnabend.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet