CVEC named Ag Innovator of 2017 by state’s AURI

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
admin's picture

Ethanol plant recognized for energy innovation and contribution to Minnesota’s rural economy

The Chippewa Valley Ethanol Company (CVEC) of Benson, was named the 2017 Ag Innovator of the Year by the Agricultural Utilization Research Institute (AURI).

The award, which has been given annually for the past 15 years, will be accepted by CVEC Board Chair, David Thompson and General Manager Chad Friese at the company’s board meeting next Monday in Benson.

AURI was created and funded by the Minnesota Legislature with three primary goals in mind:

  • The identification and expansion of existing markets for new or existing commodities, ingredients and products;
  • The development of new uses or value improvements for Minnesota agricultural commodities; and
  • The development of renewable energy opportunities from Minnesota agricultural commodities and co-products.

Each year, the AURI board of directors names an Ag Innovator of the Year Award, the organization’s highest honor, on a company or entrepreneur it feels has made a substantial impact in the areas of product innovation, uniqueness and commercialization potential. This year’s award is the culmination of 20 years of cooperative work between AURI and CVEC....


For more on this story, and to keep up on all the latest news, subscribe to the Swift County Monitor-News print edition or our PDF internet edition. Call 320-843-4111 and you can get all the local news and sports delivered to you!

Rate this article: 
Average: 1 (1 vote)