Eight file for 777 board of education

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
admin's picture

When voters go to the polls to choose those they want to represent them on the District 777 Board of Education they are going to have choices.

Four people have filed for the three four-year terms that will be on the Nov. 6 ballot. Brian Samuelson, Tammy Gunlogson, James Berens, and Paul Carruth have all filed. Though they currently serve on the school board, both Carruth and Gunlogson were appointed to fill out the terms of board members who had resigned.

The three candidates of the four who get the most voters will win seats on the school board.

There were also four people who filed for the single two-year term that will also be filled in the November election. Eric Peterson, Ron A. Hanson, Chad Payne and Jodi DeJong-Hughes filed for the seat. Payne and DeJong-Hughes currently serve on the board. Payne is the chair.

The winners in the November election will join Mary K.W. Langan, Bill McGeary and Gary Williams on the school board in January.


For more on this story, and to keep up on all the latest news, subscribe to the Swift County Monitor-News print edition or our PDF internet edition. Call 320-843-4111 and you can get all the local news and sports delivered to you!

Rate this article: 
No votes yet