Collins wins second term; incumbent council members reelected

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
admin's picture
Mayor Terri Collins

Unopposed on the ballot, Benson Mayor Terri Collins was reelected to the city council for a second two-year term Tuesday.

Local voters also reelected the two incumbents on the council to four-year terms. Lucas Olson and Jon Buyck were the top two vote getters in the four-way race for the two open seats.

Incumbents Mark Schreck and Jack Evenson have two years remaining in their current four-year terms.


Benson City Council Election


Mayor Terri Collins                                      316


Top two win seats on the council

Jon Buyck                                                  245

Lucas Olson                                                214

Nathan Sullivan                                           130

Larry Smith                                                78


Voter turnout was very low with only 345 ballots cast. In the 2015 mayor’s race, 710 ballots were cast. That year’s turnout was aided by Benson Public School’s operating levy also being on the ballot. In the 2015 council election, there were 784 votes cast as Gary Landmark and Tara Ulmaniec ran for mayor. There were also six candidates seeking two seats on the council.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet