Skip to main content

Benson and KMS football teams earn Silver academic awards; Goff named to individual All-State team

Lead Summary

The Benson and KMS football teams both earned MSHSL Academic All-State Football Silver awards during the 2013 season.  KMS was one of nine winners in Class A, while Benson was one of eight winners in AA.  
KMS was coached this season by Eric Kauffmann and Benson was coached by Scott Gonnerman.  Area schools winning Gold Academic titles were Hancock in 9-man, Dawson-Boyd and MACCRAY in Class A, Minnewaska Area, and Minneota in Class AA, Montevideo and NLS in Class AAA, and Willmar in 5A, while also winning a Silver award was LQP in Class A.
•  In addition, Jacob Goff, a senior member with the Benson football team was named to the 15-member Class AA State Academic All-State team.  Goff was a starting defensive end and wide receiver for the Braves. Taylor Holleman of Hancock was named to the 9-man state team, while Joey Lee of Dawson-Boyd was named to the Class A team, Sawyer Tersteeg of BOLD joined Goff on the Class AA team, and NLS’ Ryan Vraa was named to the Class AAA team.
Photo:  Jacob Goff is #88.

Sign up for News Alerts

Subscribe to news updates