Those seeking Swift County offices facing no opposition

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
admin's picture

Swift County’s two incumbent county commissioners who are up for re-election this November are running unopposed.

Swift County’s treasurer, attorney and sheriff will also be on the Tuesday, Nov. 6 ballot without opposition.

Commissioners Ed Pederson, District 2, and Joe Fox, District 4, are seeking re-election to four-year terms on the Swift County Board of Commissioners.

Fox won his first term on the Swift County Board of Commissioners in November 2006 defeating then Appleton Mayor Ron Ronning. When he ran for re-election in 2010 and 2014, he was unopposed.

Fox’s district is the largest in the county in geographic area. It includes the following cities and townships:
City of Danvers             Cashel Township
City of Clontarf              Clontarf Township
City of Murdock             Dublin Township
Fairfield Township         Hegbert Township
Marysland Township     Shible Township
Six Mile Grove Twsp     Swenoda Township
Tara Township               West Bank Township

Pederson was elected to his first term on the county board in November 2014 when he defeated Benson Township farmer Grant Herfindahl.  Pederson ran a write-in campaign for the county board in 2012 against incumbent Gary Klemm, but lost 539 to 425 – a close race for a write-in campaign. Pederson served 13 years as the Swift County Assessor.

District 2 encompasses the north half of the City of Benson and Benson Township. The township is mostly northeast of the city and includes the Lake Hassell and Lake Moore areas. Its southern border is Minnesota Highway 9 with its northern border the Swift-Pope County line.

Commissioners not up for election in November are Gary Hendrickx, District 1-Appleton; Pete Peterson, District 3-south Benson and Torning Township; and Eric Rudningen, District 5-Kerkhoven.

County elected officials

No challengers filed to contest the re-election bids of Swift County Attorney Danielle Olson, Sheriff John Holtz and Treasurer Ron Vadnais.

The Swift County Auditor’s office is no longer an elected position; rather the county appoints the person.

Vadnais is seeking his 10th term as the county treasurer in November. Olson won her first term in 2014 defeating incumbent County Attorney Robin Finke. She won every township and city in the county.

Holtz will be seeking a third term as sheriff.


For more stories like this, and to keep up on all the latest news, subscribe to the Swift County Monitor-News print edition or our PDF internet edition. Call 320-843-4111 and you can get all the local news and sports delivered to you!

Rate this article: 
Average: 5 (1 vote)